Skip to content

Autor: Ulrike Götz

Lesedauer: 4 min

One Barangaroo
One Barangaroo Copyright: Tom Roe

Down Under at the top

Australia wins prestigious Emporis Skyscraper Award for the first time!

This year the world’s most renowned architecture award for skyscrapers, the Emporis Skyscraper Award, goes to One Barangaroo in Sydney. For the first time in the more than 20 year-long history of the awards, the prestigious trophy goes to Australia. One Barangaroo is a 271-meter-tall skyscraper, designed by British architect WilkinsonEyre and is the tallest building in Sydney, offering spectacular views of Sydney Harbor and the city’s iconic Opera House.

Like every year, the winner of the Emporis Skyscraper Award was selected by an international jury of architectural experts from over 300 skyscrapers that were completed in 2020 with a minimum height of 100 meters. For more than 20 years, the renowned award has been awarded by Emporis (, the international provider of building data, and is an indispensable part of the international architecture scene.

According to the jury, the extravagant design of One Barangaroo’s exterior façade was the deciding factor for the building coming in at first place. It is inspired by natural shapes and resembles three petals rising slightly twisted into the sky. The magnificent tower stands on a four-story high podium, the outer walls of which are decorated with a mantle of marble. In addition to a casino, apartments and restaurants, the building also houses a luxury six-star hotel owned by the Crown Resort Group, Australia’s largest entertainment conglomerate and developer of One Barangaroo.

In third place is One Vanderbilt in New York City. The skyscraper, designed by Kohn Pedersen and Fox, is located near Grand Central Terminal in Manhattan and combines state-of-the-art office space with direct connections to one of the city’s largest transport hubs. The striking features of the tower are the four visually clearly separated modules which combined give the building an asymmetrical, distinctive shape, making it one of New York’s latest eye-catchers in the Manhattan skyline.

Due to the Coronavirus pandemic, 2020 was a turbulent and challenging year that also had a strong impact on the construction industry; the total number of skyscrapers completed in 2020 fell by 20% in comparison to the previous year. Nevertheless, the top 10 buildings selected for the Emporis Skyscraper Awards clearly show that many impressive skyscrapers were completed despite the difficult conditions faced by owners, developers, construction companies and architects. In the coming year strong growth is expected to return which underlines the resilience of the construction industry and makes the jury very optimistic for the candidates of next year’s award.


About Emporis

Emporis is a provider of buildings and construction data, based in Germany. For over two decades Emporis has helped companies, organizations and individuals stay informed about the building industry. The Emporis Skyscraper Award is the world’s most renowned prize for high-rise architecture.


About the Award

The Emporis Skyscraper Award has been given since 2000. The jury is formed of architecture experts from all over the world, who judge nominated buildings according to aesthetic and functional design criteria. Previous winners include Lakhta Center (2019) in St. Petersburg, MGM Cotai (2018) in Macau, Lotte World Tower (2017) in Seoul.



Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Türantrieb für Aufzüge

Zagro AG introduces the door drives developed with Computec

In the last 4 years we have developed the CDD5 and now the universally applicable CDD6 including a new handset with Computec in Italy, manufacturer of door drives. At the same time, the IP54 protected Dunker motors and the SIBONI 1 Nm DC motor with encoder came onto the market.
lift report magazin

Seal the elevator shaft against smoke with SmokeGuard®

Sealing the elevator shaft against smoke with SmokeGuard® Fire disasters unfortunately make it clear again and again how necessary it is to prevent the spread of smoke in the building, e.g. B. to prevent the elevator shaft.
lift report magazin

Safety through lift sensors

In the past it was the job of the lift boy to ensure the safety of passengers when boarding and alighting, but today this is done by innovative sensors.